MEDIA CONTACT: Tim Long – email @ Facebook Page:



Story By Tammy Auman



MINERSVILLE, PA – July 5th, 2014

The fans turned out for some great pre-race activities that included face painting, meet and greets with drivers, the chance to see some cars up close, free food and drink, and TJ the DJ spinning the tunes. After the party ended, fans went to their seats and were treated to the racing action that proved to be some of the best yet seen this season at Big Diamond Speedway.

Dale Hartz and Brett Kressley led the field to the green for the 34th running of the Georgie Stevenson Memorial for the DIRTcar 358 Modifieds. Hartz would take the early lead until lap 4 when John Willman took over the top spot. His lead lasted until lap 6 when Frank Cozze put his #357 Norm Hansell modified out in front and showed the way until lap 19 when Rick Laubach took control of the lead. The caution flew on lap 19 and Laubach and Cozze would bring the field back to the green. Laubach would quickly pull away, but the battle for second began to heat up as Cozze started to feel the pressure from Duane Howard. Howard would eventually take over the runner up spot on lap 30 and hold it until the end of the feature. Billy Pauch Jr, the current points leader, found himself running out of fuel on lap 32 and brought out the caution as he needed assistance to be pushed back into the pit area. Laubach would once again bring the field to the green and he would be the one seeing the checkers on lap 34 and making the trip to Victory Lane, earning himself a $3,400 payday. Howard would finish in the runner up spot, followed by Cozze, Jared Umbenhauer and Doug Manmiller.

Kevin Albert Jr., Rick Laubach, and Brett Kressley won their heat events and earned a chance to run in the Marks Service Center Cash Dash for $300. The trio started 3 wide and Laubach would take the early lead on the first lap, but Albert brought out the caution before they completed their second circuit. On the restart, Laubach and Kressley would line up side by side, with Albert on their heels. Kressley took the lead and brought the field to the checkers followed by Laubach and Albert and earned himself a $300 paycheck.

In the 20 lap USS Achey Sportsman Feature event, Tim Fitpatrick put his T102 ride out in front after starting on the front row with Craig Whitmoyer. The caution would fly on lap 8 when Rob Riegel spun his 69HB. Fitzpatrick and Whitmoyer would bring the field to the green, but again, Fitzpatrick pulled away from Craig and took over the lead. Lap 18 saw Harry Landis and Clay Butler have some issues that brought out the caution, so Whitmoyer would again line up next to Fitpatrick with hopes of chasing him down. Fitzpatrick would not be beaten and would come across the stripe first followed by Whitmoyer. Rounding out the top 5 were JR Fulper, Doug Hendricks and Wayne Witmer.

The Savage 61 Roadrunners had Kris Ney and TJ Fitzpatrick bring the field to the green. Fitzpatrick would take the lead on the first lap, but after the caution flew, the two drivers would again have the chance to battle it out side by side. This time Ney would take over the top spot and led until the caution flew on lap 12 when the #105 of Joey Brennan lost a wheel. Ney would line up on the front road next to Chris Holland on the restart. Holland mashed the gas and took over the top spot and he was able to hold off the charges of Shon Elk and make a trip to Victory Lane. Shon Elk would have to settle for the runner up finish followed by Jim Kost, Devin Trexler and Andrew Fayash III.

Racing returns to Big Diamond Speedway this coming Friday, July 11th, featuring the Hoosier Tire Mid-Atlantic 358 Modifieds, Slifko Fabrication Services Late Models, and Savage 61 Roadrunners. Gates open at 5 PM, warm-ups are at 7:45 PM, and the first heat hits the track at 8:15 PM. Adult grandstand admission is $15.00. Seniors, active military, and students ages 13 to 17 are $13.00 (all with valid ID). Kids 12 and under are free. Pit participation fees are $30.00 for members and $40.00 for non-members.

Hoosier Tire Mid-Atlantic 358 Modifieds – Georgie Stevenson Memorial (34 Laps)

1) Rick Laubach ($3,400) 2) Duane Howard 3) Frank Cozze 4) Jared Umbenhauer 5) Doug Manmiller 6) Tim Buckwalter 7) Ray Swinehart 8) Kevin Smith 9) Scott Albert 10) Mike Mammana 11)Jason Rivers 12) Shawn Fitzpatrick 13) Jim Bobbitt Jr. 14) Heath Metzger 15) Billy Pauch Jr. 16) Kyle Follweiler 17) Meme Desantis 18) Dale Hartz 19) Colt Harris 20) John Willman 21) Lou Ciconni 22) Dan Hineline 23) Brett Kressley 24) Joe Mooney 25) Kevin Albert Jr. 26) Ron Haring Jr.

GME Manufacturing, LLC Hard Charger Award – Shawn Fitzpatrick

Red, White & Blue Autos Inc. Hard Luck Award (Feature Cars Only) – Kevin Albert Jr.

Shiley Fabrication Inc. Hard Luck Award (All Cars) – Brett Kressley

Heat Winners – Kevin Albert Jr., Rick Laubach, Brett Kressley

Marks Auto Repair Cash Dash Winner – Brett Kressley

USS Achey Sportsman (20 Laps)

1) Tim Fitzpatrick 2) Craig Whitmoyer 3) JR Fulper 4) Doug Hendricks 5) Wayne Witmer 6) Mike Lisowski 7) Shawn Light 8) Billy Moyer Jr. 9) Charles Webber 10) Ray Woodall Sr. 11) Harry Landis 12) Clay Butler 13) Jeff Bubori 14) Chad Putalavage 15) Josh Hertzog 16) Mike Glass 17) AJ Gerhart 18) Todd Huffman 19) Rob Riegel 20) Charles Fayash 21) Kevin Beach

GME Manufacturing, LLC Hard Charger Award – Shawn Light

Kim’s Kreations Hard Luck Award (Feature Cars Only) – Kevin Beach

Shiley Fabrication Inc. Hard Luck Award (All Cars) – Charles Fayash

Heat Winners – Clay Butler, Kevin Beach Jr.

Savage 61 Roadrunners (20 Laps)

1) Chris Holland 2) Shon Elk 3) Jim Kost 4) Devin Trexler 5) Andrew Fayash III 6) Jared Seigfried 7) Kris Ney 8) Tom Hablett 9) Jeremy Becker 10) TJ Fitzpatrick 11) Joe Kavanaugh 12) Terry Kramer Jr. 13) Jesse Krasnitsky 14) Kyle Wingle 15) John Whyne 16) Joey Brennan 17) Tim Fitzpatrick Jr. 18) Bill Wingle Jr. 19) Jon Schlauch 20) Bill Wingle Sr. DNS) Chuck Eckert

Heat Winners – Tom Hablett, Kris Ney

Red, White & Blue Autos Inc. Hard Luck Award (Feature Cars Only) – Joey Brennan